The Hard Part of Flying

by Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Official national release July 1, 2017. Available now.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Hard Part of Flying via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 30 days

      $15 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more




released July 5, 2016

Produced by Ron Flynt
Recorded and Mixed by Ron Flynt at Jumping Dog Studios, Austin TX
Mastered by Jerry Tubb at Terra Nova Digital Audio, Inc, Austin TX
the photo on this page is by Jenny Eskey
Cover by Matt Eskey

Jim Patton: vocals, acoustic rhythm guitar
Sherry Brokus: vocals, percussion
Ron Flynt: bass, piano, keyboards, acoustic rhythm guitar, harmonies, percussion, accordion
Warren Hood: fiddle
Rich Brotherton: acoustic lead guitar, mandolin, cittern, dobro, classical guitar
Marvin Dykhuis: acoustic lead guitar, 12-string guitar, classical guitar, mandolin, dobro
John Bush: Percussion
Mary Cutrufello: acoustic lead guitar
Scrappy Jud Newcomb: classical guitar
Julie Carter: cello

1. My Hometown's Not My Hometown Anymore (Patton-Talmadge)
2. Learning to Fall (Patton-Brooks)
3. How Did We Come to This? (Patton-Talmadge)
4. When I Was The King (Patton-Talmadge)
5. Ghosts in This Room Tonight (Jim Patton)
6. Drunk in Baltimore (Patton-Himes)
7. She Doesn't Love Him Anymore (Patton-Talmadge)
8. Doin' Time (Patton-Talmadge)
9. I'm Not Singing For You (Jim Patton)
10. Down at the Anchor Inn (Jim Patton)
11. Still Got a Little Wild in Me (Patton-Brooks)

tracks 1,3,4,7, and 8 © Independent Alligator Pub. Co. (ASCAP) and Tot Ziens Music (BMI)
tracks 2 and 11 © Independent Alligator Pub. Co. (ASCAP) and Casa del Frog Music (BMI)
track 6 © Independent Alligator Pub. Co. (ASCAP) and Red Wheelbarrow Music (BMI)
tracks 5, 9 and 10 © Independent Alligator Pub. Co. (ASCAP)


all rights reserved



Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus Austin, Texas

Austin folk rock songwriters Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus will release “Collection 2008-2018” in July 2019, drawn from their four acoustic albums produced by Ron Flynt. Songs which dive deep into characters whose lives haven't worked out as planned with Airplane/Everly Bros. Wall of Sound harmonies and fiddles, mandolins, and acoustic guitars passionately playing Byrds/Band style roots music. ... more

contact / help

Contact Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

If you like Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus, you may also like: